Center of Development Excellence

The North Central Texas Council of Governments (NCTCOG), together with private and public partners, works to help create a sustainable North Texas that is recognized nationwide as a center of development excellence. Our goal is for North Texas to be a region where residents, businesses, and visitors enjoy a built environment that creates a true sense of place; uses water, energy, and environmental resources effectively and efficiently; protects a diversity of habitats; reduces vehicle miles traveled (VMT); and supports public health and quality of life. To achieve these aims, regional leaders have adopted Principles of Development Excellence and NCTCOG carries out various strategic initiatives. These include support for Vision North Texas, the CLIDE Awards Program, a regional repository of best practicessustainable development activities, and many others.


2019 Center of Development Excellence Survey
The North Central Texas Council of Governments is gathering feedback from its member governments on its Center of Development Excellence and related activities. 

NCTCOG is seeking diverse input from community development, economic development, public works, environmental management, elected and appointed officials, department directors, and city management to help us decide upon next steps for our program. 

Access the survey here: 

Library of Technical Tools

We have a library of information which contains sustainable planning documents and best practices, including but not limited to, zoning ordinances, Form-based Codes, comprehensive plans, thoroughfare plans, Transit-Oriented Development, design guidelines, incentives, and other innovative local and regional government practices from the North Central Texas region, as well as around the country, that might serve as practical examples of tools to aid you in providing sustainable planning and development and advance our mission.

 Access the Library of Technical Tools


CLIDE Awards

Celebrating Leadership iDevelopment Excellence (CLIDE) awards. Begun in 2003, the Map of Past CLIDE Awards RecipientsCLIDE Awards recognize projects, developments, and private or public programs that exemplify the region's Principles of Development Excellence. For more information, look here.

During the 2017 CLIDE Awards Cycle 9 recipients from among 21 applicants were honored at the North Central Texas Council of Governments' General Assembly in June 2017. View 2017 the awardees.

Applications for the CLIDE Awards are accepted every two years. A select jury of nationally recognized experts reviews and choses the awardees. These awardees will be recognized throughout the year and beyond. For more information about the 2019 CLIDE Awards and the call for applications, click here

Learn more about CLIDE and previous CLIDE recipients

Sustainable North Texas

Helping North Texas meet the needs of today while planning sensibly to meet future needs. Give us your ideas of Best Practices.